Armour Institute

The Armour Institute of Technology grew out the Armour Mission, a Sunday School established through bequests from brothers Philip D and Joseph F Armour in 1881. In 1887, technical classes were introduced by librarian Julia Beveridge and quickly proved popular. Subsequently Rev. Frank W Gunsaulus' "Million Dollar Sermon" given in 1980 at the affiliated Plymouth Church inspired Philip D Armour to provide funding for a technical training school. Armour Institute of Technology opened in 1982 and expanded its technical curriculum over the following decades. In 1940 it joined with the Lewis Institute to form the Illinois Institute of Technology under the leadership of President Henry Heald, who became IIT's first president.

Armour-related collections include some administrative records, photographs of students, faculty, and the campus, and three-dimensional artifacts. University Archives and Special Collections holds a near-complete collection of Armour yearbooks, catalogs, and academic bulletins, as well as student newspapers.

Search results

(1 - 10 of 10)
"The Gorge," from Machinery Hall
The Armour Institute, Mission, and Flats
Armour Institute 1893, 1st football team
Frank Gunsaulus, 1912
Engine Room, Main Building, Armour Institute of Technology, Chicago, Illinois, ca. 1900
Armour Institute of Technology Class of 1931 Reunion, 1941
Armour Mission, Chicago, IL, ca. early 1900s
Main Building and the "Gorge" (Federal Street and the buildings that lined it), Armour Institute of Technology, Chicago, Ill., 1916
Howard Monroe Raymond
Armour Institute of Technology, Chicago, Illinois, ca. 1901-1919