IPRO 320

Teacher Knowledge Share: A Professional Networking Site for Chicago Area Teachers

Objective

- To create a functional professional networking site for teachers that was both user friendly and time efficient in order to better aid teachers as they prepared for their classes
- To create an interest for the site within the academic community

Basic Organization and Tasks

IPRO 320 delegated responsibilities to two sub-groups. During the first half of the semester, the Research Team focused on determining what teachers wanted on their site, while the Development Team began initial work on the website using the previous semester's data. During the latter half of the semester, the team as a whole conducted an interactive broad survey on the functional website and analyzed the results in order to better prepare the next semester for marketing.

Accomplishments

Accomplishing our goals to a high degree, IPRO 320 made significant progress. A functional website was created incorporating features teachers had requested in the focus groups and surveys. In addition, a broad multimedia-based survey was developed and distributed in order to better prepare the next semester for marketing and future improvements.

Challenges

- Research Team
 - o Difficulty finding research participants: impacted timeline
 - o IIT IRB Approval
- Development Team
 - o Minor difficulties with building the website
 - Needed to get permission for the RSS feeds
 - o Development of copyright and privacy policies

Conclusion

IPRO 320 made significant progress continuing the work of the previous semester.

- Greatly improved the website, now functional and developing a user base
- Created a much stronger research basis for future teams

Next steps

- Focus on marketing the site to teachers and gaining a large user base
- Add more lesson plans to the database to make it more useful to initial users

Faculty & Advisors: Dr. Jim Braband and Dr. Scott Gehrs

Team Leader: Marijke Bochantin, Psychology/Humanities

Student Members: Michael Tilatti, AE; David Bern, BME; Julian Hartline, Ian McCall, Dmitriy Pindrik, Michael Quinn, Andrew Peake, CS; Emily Mick, Chemistry; Alison Pierce, Psychology; Carly Stanford, Political Science.