

## OFFICERS

PresidentMR. A. A. DITTMAR, '08Vice-PresidentMR. E. B. CRANE, '09SecretaryMR. O. S. EDWARDS, '10TreasurerMR. F. U. SMITHLibrarianMR. L. L. POWELL, '11

For some time past there has been felt the need of an organization which would tend to unify the different classes and promote good fellowship among the students of the Institute. To fulfill this want, the Simeon B. Chapin Club was organized. The project had not been carried out before mainly because of lack of room, and it was not until the buildings formerly occupied by the American School of Correspondence were vacated that the difficulty could be overcome. Mr. Simeon B. Chapin, a member of the Board of Trustees of the Institute, donated \$500 to go towards furnishing the rooms. A handsome clock was presented to the club by Dr. Gunsaulus, and a piano was secured. The rooms were finished up in the Mission style, and the furniture is of that pattern. A number of popular magazines are delivered to the club rooms, and several chess and checker sets have been added to the equipment.

The constitution, which is modeled after that of the Reynolds' Club at the University of Chicago, was drawn up by a committee on organization, consisting

of Dean Raymond as chairman, Mr. F. U. Smith, Mr. B. B. Freud, Mr. J. B. Finnegan, and the presidents of each of the classes, and was later accepted by the student body of the college. The class presidents were appointed temporary officers, with Mr. F. U. Smith as treasurer.

126